All branch members are entitled to stand for election to be a UNISON workplace representative or branch officer for the coming year. We hope to have new people come forward to help organise union members in their work area to help us stand together to defend our pay, terms and conditions, and our NHS services which face the most serious attacks for decades.

It might be that more than one person wants to stand, in which case we hold an election so members can decide who represents them. The newly nominated/elected officers and stewards are announced at the Annual General Meeting which is also an opportunity for branch members to say what you think about how our branch has been run over the past year, and how you think it should be run in the future.

UNISON provides free training for officers and workplace reps, and reps have legal rights to paid time off to carry out their vital role of ensuring members voices are heard.

If you would like to stand as a workplace rep and/or a branch officer then you need to complete a nomination form ( two if you wish to stand for as a workplace rep and a branch officer).  You will need 2 nominations from the other UNISON members for each position, and for workplace reps nominations must be from members in your immediate workplace.

You can view and download nomination forms to stand as a workplace reps and/or branch officer here.  The same link will also allow you to view descriptions of the different types of workplace reps (convenor/stewards/health and safety/learning rep) and branch officer roles.

All nominations must be received by the branch secretary no later than midday on Wdnesday 20th December.  Nomination forms can be sent to Branch Secretary, Oxfordshire UNISON Health Branch, c/o  Unison Office, Warneford Hospital, Headington, Oxford, OX3 7JX or scanned and emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

If positions are contested elections will take place in the New Year with results announced at the AGM on 26th January.

All branch members are invited to attend the branch Annual General Meeting.  A well attended and vocal AGM gives the branch officers a clear view of the concerns of members and allows members to see how their branch has been run over the last year as well as make decisions for the year ahead about branch policy and which members will represent the branch.   To round off the night we have a meal and disco paid for by the branch, plus free entry into a £500 prize raffle for members coming to the meeting before 7.30pm.  Members can bring a guest for just £5 which will be donated to charity.

If you would like a meal at the AGM you will need to book this in advance.  Book your meal by registering at the website event here.



Over 60 branch members attended this year's AGM. The meeting confirmed the election of officers and stewards for the coming year, and voted to award honoraria to officers and stewards who had served the previous year.

The treasurers report (see end)  and branch plan for the coming year were accepted by the meeting.

The Branch Committee are ordinary memebrs of the branch elected to organise the work of the branch.  Committee members are elected every year and any member of the branch can stand for election to one of the positions on the committee.

The elections take place at the start of the year.

The following people were elected to the branch committee in Jan 2016


Branch Chair Susan Parkinson
Branch Secretary Jane Lacey
Treasurer Corrine Jack
Oxford health Trust Convenor Sharon Akers & Jane Lacey
Oxford University Hospitals Trust convenor Susan Parkinson
Southern Health convenor (Oxfordshire) Vacant
Oxfordshire CCG convenor Rosita Ellis
NHS South, Central and West CSU
Steve Curtis
Equalities Usha Chohan & Nigel Carter
Health and Safety Ann Dolan
International Chris Davis
Communications Ian Mckendrick
Welfare Sue Groves
Education Rosita Ellis
Recruitment John Ascough
Environment Trevor Gittens
Life Long Learning Fred Mafabi
Labour Link Vacant
Retired members Stephen Parkinson
Young members Georgie Lacey
Social Secretary Trevor Gittens
BAOT Dearbhla Dempsey
Healthcare student Vacant

Self Organsised Group reps

Womens' SOG

Susan Parkinson

Black Members' SOG

Gassim Turay

Disabled members' SOG

Abdul Rahman

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender members' SOG

Tina Thomas